Logo Left Logo 1 Logo Right  


About Asian Cinema Studies Society


Asian Cinema Studies Society (ACSS) was launched in the United States in 1984 by Mira BINFORD, with help from a coterie of Asian cinema scholars. It initiated a newsletter and held successful conferences in Athens, Ohio (1988), Melbourne, Australia (1990), and New York City (1992).

At a second conference in Athens, Ohio, in Fall 1994, John A. LENT was elected chair and editor-in-chief of Asian Cinema, which had evolved from a newsletter to a periodical. Lent turned Asian Cinema in an academic journal. In 2012 he stepped down as Chair of ACSS and Editor of Asian Cinema which by then has published through to Vol. 22 (2011) with a total of 32 numbers, each issue averaging 250-300 pages.

During this period, ACSS has conducted five more international conferences: Peterborough, Canada (1997), Norman, Oklahoma (2000), Jeonju, Korea (2002), Seattle, Washington (2003), Beijing/Shanghai, China (2005), and Hong Kong (2012).

The ACSS conference in Hong Kong was held in conjunction with and also with the generous support of the Hong Kong University's Comparative Literature Department and Center for the Study of Globalization and Cultures. An election of ACSS office bearers was held with the following results:


Chair                           TAN See Kam, University of Macau, Macau
Vice Chairs                  Gary BETTINSON, Lancaster University, UK
                                    CHEN Xihe, Shanghai University, PRC
Secretary-Treasurer    JIANG Wei, University of Macau, Macau


Regional Coordinators:

Australia:              Laura VANDERSTAAY,
University of Queensland, Australia.
Freie Universitat Berlin, Germany.
Hong Kong, Macao:       
Richard XU Xiaying,
University of Macau, Macau.
PR of China:             
Karsten KRUEGER,
Shantou University, PRC.
Southeast Asia:       
Gaik Cheng KHOO,
University of Nottingham, Malaysia.


Honorary Member:      John A. Lent


As of 2012, the peer reviewed Asian Cinema journal becomes an Intellect Press title. The journal’s  International Advisory Board comprises highly regarded scholars of Asian Cinema and related fields. The selection has aimed to reflect diversities in the field as broadly as possible. The board members are as follows:

Chris BERRY, London University, UK
David BORDWELL, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
Robert CHEN Ru Shuo, National Chengchi University, Taiwan
Rachel DYWER, SOAS, London University, UK
Aaron GEROW, Yale University, USA
HAO Yufan, University of Macau, macau
Koichi IWABACHI, Waseda University, Japan
KIM Soyoung, Korean National University of Arts, Korea
KIM D Shin, Hallym University, Korea
Sheldon LU, UC Davis, USA
Gina MARCHETTI, Hong Kong University, Hong Kong
Fran MARTIN, University of Melbourne, Australia
Raya MOARG, Hebrew University, Israel
Hamid NAFICY, Northwestern University, USA
Asuman SUNER, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
Stephen TEO, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Chief editors:
Gary BETTISON, University of Lancaster, UK
TAN See Kam, University of Macau, Macau


Book Review Editor:
Charles LEARY, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak,  Malaysia